Small Accomplishments…

…Go a long way for a healthy state of mind. Sometimes they’re absolutely necessary. Like the small accomplishment, hey, I got out of bed today. Or hey, I put on clothes today. 

Today was a day of small accomplishments. Not only did I manage to get out of bed, shower, and get dressed (a feat, I know!), but I was able to work more on my apartment. Since moving almost two weeks ago, some parts of unpacking have gone slowly, having to balance between that, a job, and a side job, and even some sleep. And if you’re like me, you need 8-10 hours of sleep a day. 

I was able to enroll in some benefits through my job- dental, vision, and life insurance. Navigating the portal itself was a small accomplishment. 

Prior to the move, I had stopped washing most laundry and only did small loads of absolutely necessary items. So I’ve been working my way through a gigantic pile. I’m happy to say I got most of it done today. I have two more loads to finish drying and put away. Another tiny win for this girl. 

I took a nap. Not really an accomplishment, but I think I needed the rest. 

I changed the sheets on the beds and even put on bed skirts!

And then I made dinner, and that was a mess of mixed emotions. On the one hand I made shumai from a brand I have purchased before. They were delicious. On the other hand I made crab Rangoon that I picked up at Aldi yesterday. They were awful. I was expecting crab and cream cheese. What I got was crab, cream cheese, carrots, water chestnuts, something unidentifiably green, and various other things. Needless to say, my palate was assaulted. 

Tonight I’ll continue the seemingly never ending task of unpacking, and watch the new Tangled cartoon on Disney. So today was a decently good day with all those small accomplishments. 

I feel good. 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

